EDC School Board and Community Members Recognized

EDC School Board and Community Members Recognized

00:00 AM - March 26, 2021

The El Dorado County School Boards Association (EDCSBA) honored school board and community members for their 2020 contributions to public education in El Dorado County. Awards were presented via Zoom, and the ceremony included videos of musical performances from Latrobe School District, Gold Trail Union School District, Lake Tahoe Unified School District and Buckeye Union School District. “It was an amazing opportunity to recognize these courageous individuals for their hard work throughout this past year,” Dr. Ed Manansala, El Dorado County Superintendent of Schools, expressed. “I commend our school boards and community leaders for exemplifying an unwavering commitment to do what is best for our students and educators amid a time of great uncertainty.”

Awards included:

Outstanding Community Member: Dr. Nancy Williams, El Dorado County Public Health Officer, for her steadfast commitment to schools. She has been a critical partner during the pandemic and is a strong advocate for El Dorado County schools at the regional and state levels.

Outstanding Community Organization: Boys and Girls Club El Dorado Western Slope for their notable contribution to education of valuable resources, time and financial support; effective collaboration with education and community leaders; development of innovative solutions to complex challenges facing public education; and, broad support and active involvement in the community.

Educational Statesmanship: Trustee Gene Bist, Sr., Mother Lode Union School District (MLUSD), is an advocate for public education in the community, enriching and improving the educational experience for all students.

Outstanding Community Members/Volunteers: CC Bensley, Gene Harris, Marilyn Hylton, and Jana Vermette, Rescue Union School District (RUSD) for their unwavering commitment to schools. They developed innovative programs, donated countless hours, and have gone above and beyond to ensure our students grow beyond the classroom.

Dolores Garcia Memorial Spirit of Boardsmanship Award: Trustee Kevin W. Brown, El Dorado Union High School District (EDUHSD). This is the highest award a board member can receive and the pinnacle of awards for boardsmanship. These individuals demonstrate exemplary performance in leadership, service, community relations, and advocacy, with current knowledge on educational trends and legislation. They provide community leadership on educational issues and advocate on behalf of students and public education, contributing to the success of all students through exceptional leadership.

Lifetime Achievement: Trustee Joe Scroggins, Black Oak Mine Unified School District (BOMUSD) and Trustee Kim Nida, Gold Oak Union School District (GOUSD). The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to outgoing or retiring board members to recognize their contributions during their career as a trustee. Trustees must have served at least eight years on a school district or County Office Board.