students running

EDCOE Team Member Spotlight - Amy Ferguson

15:45 PM - September 15, 2022


Briefly describe your background (where you grew up, family, why you came to work for EDCOE).

 

I was born and raised in El Dorado County and grew up on the divide, a small community with a big heart. I graduated high school from Golden Sierra Junior Senior High School and went to St. Andrews University in North Carolina on a softball scholarship. I studied art and design and met my husband, Parker, while getting my Bachelor of Fine Arts. After college I went into managing small businesses in the beauty industry. Once I had my second son, Camden, I decided to switch gears and stay home to raise my two little boys and launch my own children's clothing line. I came to work at EDCOE once my first son, Rowan, started kindergarten and I had the flexibility to work full-time.

 

What is your department, title, primary work location, and how long have you worked for EDCOE?

 

I am a program assistant with the El Dorado Charter SELPA on the Green Valley campus, and I am approaching the one-year mark working for EDCOE.

 

Describe how your role helps support programs/schools/students directly or indirectly.

 

The El Dorado Charter SELPA was developed to support students with disabilities in the charter setting. My role in the Charter SELPA allows me to support the department, our charter partners, and future partners. I am the direct support for the Executive Director of the Charter SELPA.

 

What do you most appreciate about your department/team?

 

I appreciate the collaborative aspect of our department. Most of our team works remotely and it’s empowering to see all that the department can accomplish while working all over California to support our 448 charter schools.

 

What is your proudest moment at EDCOE? Why?

 

My proudest moment at EDCOE was overseeing three events back-to-back in two days in San Diego last spring. These events are the culmination of what I do throughout the year in my role, and I was proud to see it to fruition, meet new partners, and connect with existing partners our department had not seen in-person for years.

 

What do you like to do in your spare time?

 

My spare time is extremely limited working full-time, juggling my two little boys and their schedules, and my husband being out of town a good portion of the year for his job as a firefighter for the US Forest Service. When I do have time to myself, I enjoy being outside (walking, hiking, gardening), being artistic (painting, crafting, sewing), or treating myself (solo errands, shopping, pampering).

 

What is something many people may not know about you?

 

Growing up, I was the only left-handed person in my family and group of friends. Now in my immediate family myself, my husband and oldest son are left-handed, leaving my youngest to learn the struggle of being the opposite-handed child.

 

If you could meet anyone in the world, living or deceased, who would it be and why?

 

I wish I could have met my maternal grandfather since he passed away before I was born. I would love to find out if my husband’s grandfather (a pilot) and mine (a flight surgeon) ever crossed paths while simultaneously stationed at nearby bases in Florida during WWII.

 

From supervisor Ginese Quann:

 

Amy is the glue in our department that keeps me and the team moving forward. She supports our charter membership/governance process and ensures we are fulfilling our obligations. I appreciate her stability, flexibility, and contributions in improving our work as a team. Amy is always present with a smile and willing to help where needed. I appreciate her ability to be proactive in problem solving and improving processes. Her commitment to the team and our community is greatly valued and appreciated! 

Back Back